nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Cotton star campsite

Found this 'off-grid' campsite (i.e. just a tap and two portaloos) outside Sheffield near to the start of tomorrow's ride - in preference to having to get up early and get lost on the way there.  A nice place with just me and a small collection of women with daisy garlands in their hair having a 'fest' of some description; they didn't seem to mind my presence.  The campsite still has these flags and bike up from last year's Grand Depart, it has definitely been a boost to the area.

Very still so lots of midges, unfortunately I had neither repellent nor trousers.  The apparent quietness was soon filled with sheep, birds, and buzzing insects.  I read Lovecraft's 'The Whisper in Darkness' which seemed rather appropriate.  Later I heard a very odd call, like a frog croaking but clearly moving at bird speed; thanks to Tweet of the Day I reckon it was a woodcock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.