Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Life Is Good

"It seems to me that the good life is not any fixed state. It is not, in my estimation, a state of virtue, or contentment, or nirvana, or happiness. It is not a condition in which the individual is adjusted or fulfilled or actualized. To use psychological terms, it is not a state of drive-reduction, or tension-reduction, or homeostasis.

The good life is a process, not a state of being.

It is a direction not a destination."



From On Becoming a Person, published in 1961 by Carl Rogers (1902 - 1987)




A busy day again today.  I did some more tidying of the garden at Mum's, and we took my little StreetKa for a run in the afternoon for tea and cupcakes.  This sign was hanging above the counter in the tea-room.  Life is as good as my family can make it after going through such a traumatic time - definitely a direction rather than a destination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.