Harri8

By Harri8

Slacklining

Rain stopped play at Roland Garros at exactly the same time as it actually stopped over here (first time in 24hrs?). The whippet and I were at the park, faster than if we'd been beamed up, Scottie.
Woooah the wind - it was a gale with ducks being blown off the pond. Harvey loves the wind; he's like a dancer galloping at full pelt with huge, dainty strides... to complete his delight were rabbits and squirrels to chase (fruitlessly).

On the way back we happened upon some fledgling Slackliners. The orange band was probably about 2 feet off the ground, attached to a couple of trees. Not ideal conditions for the activity (or sport?). The wind had picked up and it was pouring down again. They invited me to have a go, and first off got me to sit on the orange band ... hardly slack although nowhere as taut as a tightrope line apparently. I was wearing my decrepit old boots, so there wasn't much grip. Well, that's my excuse anyway. The guys were keen to impress that it wouldn't take long to master and that people do backflips and somersaults from the slackline. Hmmmm I think it would take me a long time - but such bouncy fun, I'm tempted. Harvey was not.

Got back to the car park to find a herd of young deer lining the fence. Right next to the sign "Do not feed the deer" a man obviously had superior knowledge (as they do) and was feeding them bananas.

Home in time to see Rafa serve for the second set and then win, brutally. Order restored, just for a moment.

Now picture mounting for next Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.