Canon O'Donnell Hall

Arrived at Lewes Victoria Hospital somewhat early for my torture physiotherapy session this morning so I took a quick stroll down the road. I was going to photograph the front of HM Prison Lewes but a stern look from a man in a peaked hat was enough to send me scurrying on. Just down from the prison is Canon O'Donnell Hall on Western Road. A site of some local controversy. It was originally used as a church hall and venue for various community functions but fell into disrepair after being closed and sold to a property developer. Applications to demolish it and use the site for flats were turned down in 2009 and 2011 and the building stands forlornly on its wedge shaped site at the junction of two of the main roads into/out of town. Apparently its one of the few examples of an Arts and Crafts building in Lewes. As I was standing there a man in a lorry stopped and asked me the way into the prison. Multiple response options came to mind, but he was Polish and I got the impression that I would have been wasting my time. I gave him directions, slightly worried that he had a very long ladder on the back of the lorry (I kid you not).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.