-daisy-chain-

By thedaisychain

Beware of the Dog

*Backblip*

Today was our Pompeii day and we spent a good 6 hours looking around the archaeological site. 
So many interesting pictures, but I think this was one of my favourites - a mosaic at the entrance to a house which reads "Cave Canem" or 'beware of the dog'. I remember it being in my Latin textbook at school so it was pretty cool to finally see it in real life. 
I loved being able to walk around the ancient streets and try to imagine them as they will have been, having a nosey in the houses and seeing some with the beautiful paintings still on the walls and of course feeling extremely moved seeing the bodies of the victims in all their poses as they were hit with the lava. Most heart wrenching were the small groups cuddling together, including small children. 
Such a good day getting to visit one of the places that has long held a great fascination for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.