Train to Peterborough

Today I decided to have a day out! It's rare I get chance, and as it's back to a life of routine, drudgery and messing about with food as of Thursday, and tomorrow I have my hospital follow-up, it was now or never! (Maybe not never exactly, but who knows when!)

So I got the train I normally get to go to my parents' and went to the end of its line: Peterborough! It is quite a pretty city, if you don't stray too far from the centre!

I had a good browse around the big Queensgate shopping mall. I only bought one thing - a Price's scented candle designed specifically to neutralise the smell of cat piss. It has a picture of a black cat on the box! How appropriate!

I had lunch in Pret a Manger - Lincoln doesn't have one, but I'd heard good things, and it did live up to the hype!

After lunch it was photo time! I took shots of the Cathedral, which is superb but not as good as Lincoln's, its grounds, which are far better, and the lovely city square with fountains!!!

My main shot shows the gateway to The Vineyard at the back of the cathedral. As it says Private I resisted venturing inside! I've also included shots of graves with poppies, that I really liked, and the City Square.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.