It's Grim Up North

By lynnfot

Squeeze

Look - no trees ( well, only one), no dog, no landscape. Today I escaped into the teaming metropolis that is Lancaster.
A good afternoon: - 
I'm not deaf enough for hearing aids....yet. My top notes have gone, but the middle notes are still there.
Bought the softest, pink leather shoes.
Invited to bring photos into a Lancaster gallery for possible inclusion in exhibition in 2016.
Second visit to friend to help her with the sewing of bunting, and she is going to take me out for afternoon tea as a thank you.

And in extras, a street photographer:
him: "Are you doing what I'm doing?"
me: "Taking photographs?"
him: "Yes, street photography."

I watched him make his way up the road, stuffing the camera into peoples faces and nobody seemed to notice or care. Perhaps I would get a better response if I dressed differently?

But let's not get carried away. So many homeless people in doorways. I spoke to one or two, gave them some change, felt hopeless and so sad. Its many years since Lancaster has seen this level of people on the street, I think.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.