Capturing the Everyday

By JulianBuchanan

Surprised by a Sculpture

In Wellington, New Zealand I used to seeing sculpture across the city, but not in West Kirby, England, so I was delighted to notice this recent addition as we approached the sea front. But when I got closer to admire a celebration of art, I was shocked to realise this sculpture was more than that. It was a celebration of the life lived by Simon Wallis,  an old distant friend we had bumped into when we returned to the UK a few years ago. 

I had the pleasure of working with Simon on a couple of projects (while running an Alpha Course, and he worked on setting up a Charity Theatre production “Tearfund TV” with the Youth Group I led. Simon was a warm hearted, gentle, sensitive and gifted man. It is so desperately sad that he found this world just too painful to bear.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.