Dilemma

Today was Bee Gees singer Robin Gibb's funeral. This is the church where the service took place and where he was laid to rest.

This is a church that I have taken photos of many times before. This is the town that I grew up in, and lived in until a year ago. This is the town I work in. I felt incredibly guilty taking this one photo today.

I went to the church after work, long after the service had finished, and walked around the churchyard.

I stopped by a familiar grave, looked up, and took this one photo.

I kept walking along the path and past the spot where the men were working with spades, covering the grave in earth. Flowers lined the path I was walking on. I didn't take a photo.

I looked towards his house and outside were mourners. I didn't take a photo.

Someone obviously important walked towards me, dressed in black tails, and at his side was his bodyguard. A stereotype if I ever saw one - a huge man with a grim face and a wire curling out from his ear. I didn't recognise the man. I didn't take a photo.

I left the churchyard, got into my car, stopped at the local Chinese and got a take away. As I drove out of town, I looked in my rear view mirror. Behind me was a brand new chauffeur-driven car, sparkling and expensive, and inside were people dressed in black. I didn't take a photo.

The thought did cross my mind that I could stand in the street, take photos of his coffin, his grieving family, his two faithful dogs, the famous faces, his grave. I could have had those photos online and up for sale within 15 minutes. I didn't do that.

Money aside, I could have taken those photos as a memento of the day. It was, after all, a moment in history. I didn't do that.

For me, his funeral was a private matter. It was for his family and friends to remember him, say goodbye. It wasn't a place for strangers. It wasn't a place for cameras.

So, my question to you is, what would you have done?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.