Got My Eye On You

Such a pleasant surprise this morning. The Barred Owl Strix varia was sitting on the top of our woodpecker feeding stand. From that vantage point she could get a clear and encompassing view of the pond, and I'm sure that catching a frog unaware was her plan. When I stepped of of the sliding glass door with my camera she turned her head slowly, noted my presence, and turned back around to face the pond. Since it was only slightly after sunrise I only took a few shots and then quietly went back into the house. I went off on my morning bike ride and returned about 45 minutes later to see her in exactly the same place. This time, with better light, I was able to walk very slowly to within 6-7 feet of her to take more photos. She eventually flew off to another tree on the other side of the pond where she remained for another hour or so. I don't know if she scored a frog breakfast or not. Today's 'extra shot' is of her with her head swiveled all the way to face backwards. I really LOVE owls!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.