JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

Keeping the Head @GraysArtSchool

To Aberdeen for a calm-before-the-storm preview of Gray's School of Art Degree Show, which opens this weekend.
I'm writing about it for this Saturday's Herald newspaper.
This 'head of paint' really grabbed me. It's by Amy Dobbie and is fashioned from unused paint from her palette and held together with wire. I loved it! Quite difficult to photograph though!
I've seen a fair few sculptural-looking palettes on my travels.
The most memorable was at the late Alan Davie's studio in Hertfordshire. I was lucky enough to interview this giant of mid-20th century British art as he celebrated his 90th birthday in 2010.
His palette had anthills of paint going back years. Amazing... I wonder what happened to him after he died?
The Gray's show has some very powerful painting. It's unusual in that it actually has a dedicated painting department - and it shows in the quality of the graduating students' work.
Well worth a visit. It opens this Saturday (20th June) and is on until 27th June.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.