Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Ladybird in flight

Another huge response to yesterday's comma butterfly, even though it just did not quite make SL. I was very pleased with the shot. I am still confused at your apparent adoration of snails, as the crustacean takes second spot in my overall list!

Another disappointing day from a weather point of view, but I beat the rain and got out early. I had it in mind to go for an in-flight shot of a bee, but then I came across this very agitated seven spot ladybird or ladybug, hopping from leaf to leaf. I had a couple of opportunities with it and this was the best. Not perfect but it is a crap shoot with this kind of shot.

I learned a lot about ladybird flight in Indonesia. They prepare for flight and if you recognize the raised front end, you have a fighting chance of a shot, but it is fast, too fast for the rapid shoot mode, better in single shot.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.