... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Central Hall stairs

It is Friday, so it is an Natural History Museum blip (apparently). The alternative was a rather cute white-tailed bee that I spotted this morning on our laundry basket; presumably it was taking refuge from the crazy wind.

I keep seeing this effect at the museum, and I love it: in the afternoon/evening on bright days, the light comes strongly through the windows in the roof of the main hall and casts very crisp, sharp light on the stairs at the top of the hall making the surface look almost metallic with blindingly bright highlights on top, and almost no light below. Today's light was similar to the day when I blipped the handrail casting interesting shadows

It's a bit of a random picture, but I like how contrasty it looks despite the fact that it is just stairs made of one material. There is actually another handrail running up the middle of these stairs, but it is hiding behind the column.

I really appreciate all the comments that people left yesterday: thank you, they lifted me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.