A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Unfashionable diseases

(Changed my original photo)

This is a frog instrument. You stroke the stick in its mouth across the ridges on its back and it makes a croaking noise

A friend of ours has been suffering from pleurisy recently and it was a bit surprising because we thought pleurisy was associated with orphans and workhouses and so on and it got us wondering about other unfashionable diseases. Here are a few off the top of my head, I have no idea what some of them even are and I am deliberately not looking them up, at least not yet:-

Quinsy (whit?)
Consumption (TB-making a bit of a comeback )
St Vitus Dance (I am sure this comes up in Agatha Christie books)
Goitre (caused I believe by iodine deficiency)
Dropsy (nope, me neither)

Any more?




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.