Vintage Haberdashery

(Or notions, to our friends in the USA)
I had to trawl through my sewing box today and came across these implements, inherited from the last generation of family hoarders and stored for posterity.

I know that the latch-hook is used to make rugs as I remember my parents making two rugs when I was small. I still plan to use it for a rag rug someday...

The bar of Pure Beeswax is very useable (and use it I did today), though in this block form is unusual; it will probably last me forever and be handed down in its turn.

The thing with the green handle is a complete puzzle - someone out there in Blipland may be able to tell me; the chamfered edge has blunt teeth, with two at the end forming a claw. The extra photos are of the business end and the reverse, which shows the maker's mark.

Likewise, the sharp, pointy thing with a notch must have a particular purpose, but none that I am aware of, beyond making big holes.

And that double-ended gadget at the bottom, seemingly the simplest of them all - it has concave/convex ends which have a hole in the centre. Something deep in my brain suggests it is an ear-scoop, to remove wax; I prefer a Kirby grip myself. Our old GP said never to put anything smaller than the elbow in one's ear, so I'll have to find another use for it.

Meanwhile I have spent the entire day selecting from my large button tin and affixing four buttons on a pair of trousers, having first repaired some stitching and run in loose ends. That's what you get for buying cheap! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.