5-0...

I did consider doing another skate culture article on ShooGoo and skate shoes but I was at the skate park as a pre squash warm up and I did my greatest 5-0 grind ever.

It was lush!

A 5-0 grind is basically a wheelie along using the axel of the truck grinding it along an edge.  The edge in question was at the top of the 7 foot quarter in the #middle earth section of Saughton skatepark.

I really like doing the 5-0 on this ramp because it slightly on the edge of my ability and comfort factor.  Normally I do the trick and it's like 'Ooh, I made it upright...' and 'Ooh, I made it off safely...'  It all happens rather quickly.

Tonight, I hit it perfectly and instead of it just happening, it glided across the length of the edge where I was in so much control I involutarily let out a sort of satisfactory sigh as the truck made the familiar metal on metal grinding sound.  I was just going with the flow on it, I was controlling it and waiting for the slowing of the speed to flow right back it.

T'was magic and I just headed off to squash right after it.  Always good to to finish on a make.

#Middle earth is a sort of big spread out area of the skatepark with a few ramp features in the middle.  It has be locally named after the Tolkien Lord of the Rings books setting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.