Home

"Home, home on the range,
Where the deer and the antelope play,
Where seldom is heard a discouraging word,
And the skies are not cloudy all day."

Well, my home isn't really on the range, although we do have a nice open field; there are no antelope, but the deer play here; there very seldom is a discouraging word spoken or heard; and the skies have rarely had a cloud in them for many days now, too many days!   I love looking out the window as I'm enjoying my morning coffee and seeing a deer munching on its favourite vegetation.  This deer wandered within a foot of the porch and in this shot is  just on the edge of the shadow of the fence around our veggie garden. Last night, a doe and her fawn grazed for ages after the doe chased off four other deer.  They're comfortable enough with us to come close to the house.
A couple of days ago I went for a walk in the forest, and as I came out of the trees and saw our home, I thought about how lucky we are to live in such a beautiful peaceful place, sharing the home of the deer, raccoons, squirrels, birds.  
As you can see, the ground is so dry it crunches when you walk on it.  We need a few days of rain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.