My little helper..

I love this Woodpecker.. every day it arrives and plunges its beak into the multiple ants nests I have on the lawn and gobbles up a few ants.. however,  he never quite finishes off the job as I would prefer because he would do himself out of future dinners so I put up with the ants in the lawn for the woodpecker.  Worth it I reckon.  Also you might notice that I like to help it with its camouflage and grow suitable coloured flowers so that it blends in.. buttercups, clover, daisies and poppies about cover it !!

I went out to a very inspirational talk about growing vegs this afternoon and realise my problem has been lack of watering.. must do more!  Also a tip to reduce slug damage on lettuce .. apparently slugs don't much like red lettuce... so we should grow more of it !!  Also for those of you who use copper tape round flower pots to stop slugs.. be sure not to have slugs inside the pot before you put on the copper tape.. or they will be less inclined to leave!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.