Walk the line

Had to go up to Glen Creran today to look at some Rhododendron ponticum for the Argyll & Isles Coast & Countryside Trust, who are clearing this shrub from the glen, or hoping to. 

After that I decided to go on up to Kinlochlaich Garden Centre to look for a plant or two. On the way home I did something I'd been wanting to do for years - walk up to the old Creagan railway station and have a nosy. I assumed that it had become a house, but it's empty and being used as a store and workshop. The Ballachulish line was closed in 1966 and the railway bridge across the narrows of Loch Creran replaced by a road bridge in 2001. I remember halting a garden tour I was leading so that the folk could scramble across the railway bridge and down the embankment the other side!

My extra picture was taken nearby and is an example of how not to prune an azalea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.