Kendall is here

By kendallishere

More excitement

First, Kerry, who I blipped yesterday, has opened a blip journal of her own! https://www.blipfoto.com/kerryogden

Feel free to drop by and welcome her.

Second, I came home to the news that the 10th-floor apartment in my building with a fabulous view of the city and the forest beside it, the sky and the weather, and, at certain times of year, THE MOON, which I have been on a waiting list for, is mine if I move in on June 30. So I have gone into packing mode and am now living in a sea of boxes.

Third, I have been asked to shoot a wedding of a much-beloved former student in September. I explained that I am not a pro, that I don't have lights and umbrellas and only use a 35 mm lens, but she wants me anyway. My Nikon is 6 years old and battered up, so I decided to get a new camera, one that will be my last and best, good enough to do a wedding, small enough to go anywhere with me as I age, reasonably easy to use. So after extensive internet research and many discussions, I decided. Went to the camera store. And came home with a camera I had not even considered, which cost the world but feels perfect in my hands. It's a Fujifilm X-T1.

So now I have, scattered among the packing boxes, two shiny new camera boxes, one for the body and one for the 35mm 1.4 lens (with a range of view that is familiar to me). Sue also wants to upgrade from her iPad and iPhone, so while she is searching for the right compact for her lifestyle and needs, she's going to borrow my old Nikon.

This is why I am not commenting or responding, much though I would love to. I'm packing. Learning a new camera. And going to Macbeth in the local cemetery (above). Thrilled with the clarity and focusing capacities, I include my first-ever street shot taken with the new camera, as soon as I charged the battery. Could not post Extra with iPad. Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.