Coffee & Tease

By miznico

Rawr!

Taking off gel nails is such a chore. So I ran around the house pretending to be a blingosaur.

True story.

In case you were wondering, I had pink gel (not Shellac, but close to it) nails done about 3 weeks ago. Shoulda taken a picture, because they were awesome. They survived incrediably well, and I only took them off today because the growth was at the point where you could see the top of my 'half moon' shape, and not in a retro cute way.

To take off gel nails (I'll go into care and upkeep when I get them redone), I first took an emery board over the gel, rubbing each nail down so the sheen was of the polish. I then soaked my nails in acetone (decent nail polish remover will do) for a few minutes before soaking a cotton pad (half circle per nail) and placing it over the nail, holdng it in place with the tin foil. After about 10 mins of being the blingosaur, remove the foil and the gel scrapes away with the gentlest of force (I use another of my nails), before gentley rubbing over the nail with a very fine grade emery board to remove the excess. I then push my cuticles back with an orange stick and use a conditioning polish (currently one with bamboo in it). Two coats of that, and a fresh coat every other day, and my nails are right as rain :)

Will be getting them done again in a few weeks, where I'll show you the start of the journey :p

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.