Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Always my hero...

You rescued me from rocks. You taught me how to change a plug, and how to knit. You despaired at my stubborn refusal to "get" maths. You taught me to debate, to make sure I had considered all the angles and then to stand my ground for what I believed in. You praised me when it was due, but always asked "so what next?". You taught me patience by giving me my own patch of the garden, and an eternal love for sweetpeas. You showed me what bravery, forgiveness and compassion really looks like. You gave me away with such grace and tenderness on my wedding day, gifting the ring that you had placed on Mum's finger on the same date, at the same time, all those years ago. You believed in me. You loved me.

I took my first breath in your arms. You took your last in mine. I miss you every single day Dad and  am so, so grateful for the joy that was you x.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.