A Midsummer Morning Dream?

Summer solstice, and the longest day arrived, and the torrential rain stayed with it.
A friend and I set off early this morning for a guided Summer Solstice walk around the amazing archaeological sites in Kilmartin Glen, followed by breakfast, and cake, at the lovely Kilmartin Museum .
An interesting group arrived in the café, dressed in black cloaks, and carrying long wooden staffs. Needless to say, I wasn't brave enough to ask for a photo. I did try a new technique - shooting from the hip doesn't really work when you're five foot nothing, so I switched my phone to selfie mode, and tried shooting over the shoulder. Needs a bit of practice, but it could have potential!
On the walk back to the car we saw this man performing some sort of ritual at the stone circle. He has a candle in a jar, and is holding a very elaborate looking carved wooden stick. Anyone know what this is?
The sun came out for about half an hour in the afternoon - my extra shot makes it look like Summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.