Journal of Jackie

By Jackie18

Louise Smalley Walk 2015

Back blipped the day after....
Louise was born in November 1992 with a serious hard defect. She was given only a few days to live, but battled on until she was 13 months old. Friends of Louise's family started this challenge walk in memory of Louise to raise money for local charities. I have done this walk before,in 2011 and 2012 and it is a wonderful thing to be part of. The support teams are fantastic and although I can hardly walk today because of blisters and stiff legs, I always feel proud and pleased to be part of such a community spirited occasion. The agony I feel today is completely worth it!
The walk was 41.3 miles from Burton Joyce Nottingham to Whitwell. We started at 4.00am and finished just after 6.00pm at an average pace of about 3 miles per hour!
It was also great to be able to finally finish the walk with my brother Ian and cousin Sue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.