Junction 35

I'm so excited by what's going on at  junction 35 of the M6; these are major earthworks and engineering projects, reshaping the landscape and creating new bridges that will be there for decades to come.

I really hope someone has been commissioned to photograph everything that's going on here, to record this amazing work. It's so frustrating for me as there's nowhere to (legally) pull over and take all the photos that I'd like to. I can only take these shots from a distance that no more than hint at what is going on.

It reminds me of when was working (freelance) for Barclays in 1993 and 1994. I drove from Kirkby Lonsdale down to Radbroke Hall (a few miles south of Knutsford) every day. At some point, a sign went up saying that they were building a second bridge as part of the Thelwall Viaduct. It said the project was due to finish in 1995, which I found surprising; I couldn't believe there were going to be roadworks for eighteen months!

But there were and at one point I was leaving the house at six-thirty in the morning to avoid the build up of traffic in the rush hour. These days, I take the two separate bridges for granted and it's hard to believe that all the traffic in both directions went over just one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.