pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

An ordinary day!

Of course, being Father's Day, the children had made a card for Jon. It is not something we have made a big deal of in our house, but as I get older, and obviously my dad does too, I feel a bit guilty. But then again, I'm sure he knows I love him every day, not just 'Fathers Day' as do my children with their dad.

Getting up at 10.30 I at last enjoyed the much needed lie in I've been longing for. We must have all been very tired, as we didn't even wake until 10.

After a few mundane jobs, interspersed with tea or coffee breaks, we spent a bit of time this afternoon checking out the trailer tent. Everything looks ready for a nice 2 weeks away. We will have a little more space this year, as Daniel has chosen not to join us!

With a loaded car, Henry & I drove back at 5.30 arriving at 7.30. Once I'd unloaded the car, I went to spend a little bit of time chatting to dad. As we often do, we ended up chatting about the war. It's a shared interest we have, although dad is very much more knowledgable than I. He lived his most influential teenage years through the Second World War. I think it was also one of the most exciting times in his life too.

So now I'm back at my lap top armed with some new information to do a bit more research on a great uncle who actually survived WW1.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.