Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Happy Father's Day

Today is Father's Day here in the US so I had to blip a father ... Well, I probably could have picked a better role model since hummingbirds aren't the best fathers. In fact, you could categorize them as the ultimate Dead-beat Dads!  They impregnate the females (as many as possible) then spend the rest of the summer fattening up for fall migration.  That's right - they don't lift a feather to help out - not with the nest and certainly not with feeding.  In fact, when the young start to fledge, P-Hummie and his ilk will spend countless hours trying to chase them away from ALL the feeders!

That said, they are certainly handsome dads.  And here, you can see P-Hummie sticking the very tip of his long tongue out.  I'll get a better shot of this later, but this is good for today.  

I talked to my Dad this morning - although I'm happy to be home with Hubs, I miss my parents.  It was good to hear their voices on the phone this morning.

The yard is alive with activity right now.  Hummingbirds are zooming all over, chasing and feeding - the first of the babies are out of the nests and already working on their cranky attitudes.  I got my first glimpse of a fledgling titmouse today.  The swallows are brooding in the nestbox in the stand of cedars in front of the house; and Papa Wren's new mate is already brooding eggs in their box in the back.  In addition, lots of pollinators flying around.  I had fun chasing things around the yard today with both cameras.  

I've exercised extreme restraint by only posting 4 pics, starting HERE on Flickr - first shot is one of the recently fledged hummingbird kids, yakking.  And I posted one more hummer in Extras...

Thanks for visiting, and for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts during my recent trip to Portland.  

TTFN,
Deb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.