IT HAPPENED IN MY POND

after the storm of this night the nest of the coots between the waterlilies was badly damaged. I saw from far that the two were re-organising it. When I came near I saw that the eggs lay half in the water between what was left of the nest.
The femal tried still with her legs to get them out of the water. Not only did she not succeed, but there was no dry place left to put them safely.
The male swam to the other side to collect twigs and I gathered some twigs that were blown of the trees and threw them in the water nearer to the nest. Am I that sentimental?
Millions of eggs are every day filched from birds (chickens for instance) and eaten and I want to help in this lost case? But it has happened in my pond, does that make not the difference?
The male took one twig that I had thrown and carried it to the nest, but after that he swam again far, far away and came running over the surface back with a twig and offered it the female. They both continued with the restoration.
Later when Mischa and I went for some shopping the eggs had disappeared, sunken probably.
My picture shows the goose with babies at the other pond where the little ones found shelter under her wings or so they tried to find.

My haiku:

Blow wind, blow away
The feathers, the tiny ones
For the new nest build

And the proverb:

You may thank God that your father was born before you.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.