Got the tee-shirt

The real reason for our change of plan yesterday was because the wind has dropped and Mont Ventoux was a possibility again.  

Mont Ventoux is said to be the hardest Tour de France climb.  The British cyclist, Tommy Simpson,  died near the top of the climb in the 1967 Tour de France.  However,  having done both,  I would say that Alpe D'Huez is tougher.

We are in Sault and after an early start we set off on our bikes for the 26 km ascent to the top.  We were so early that we were almost the first up there and the iconic Cafe Reynard was not open.  

By the time we came back down the hoardes were on their way up.  The 26 km freewheel descent back to Sault was amazing.

I didn't take my proper camera with me for obvious reasons so this is a phone picture of Jane and me at the top taken by a friendly Dutchman.

That's another bucket-list item ticked off.  Back up the autoroute to home tomorrow :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.