J0shua

By J0shua

Reflective moments

Didn't plan an epic night down by the harbour. But it kinda happened. It started at the pub, I wonder how many bad stories start that way. Over dinner I listened to a podcast regarding photography and the interviewee was rabbiting on about persistence and putting yourself in a position to get that photo of a lifetime.

Well that inspired me to have a quick wander to lavender bay on the way to milsons point. On approach down these magical old stone stairs, I notice something is wrong with this scene I've seen a million times. The bridge was dark. A dark bridge is rare. What is a dark bridge? No lights, somebody forgot to pay the electricity bill (can't blame them) so I scouted a few spots but I'm too far away to really demonstrate the enormity of this occasion. Boy that podcast was right, got to make your own luck sometimes.

Ok no shots here, got to get closer, now I know the shot I want it's a 5 minute walk. As I round the final corner and 250 metres / 275 yards. Oooooh no the lights are warming up they are coming on &/((&;)&@;&:$@: stupid podcast wasted my time, elevated my hopes. Oooh well it's a nice enough night so I will get some good photos here of the ferries coming and going. Then I realised these photos breach my number 1 rule. Avoid the lazy photos,  the photos every tourist gets. So I just add a reflective surface. G3nius. Have guess what it is?

Anyway some time later time to go home, check the train timetable next train service home 6.5 hours. Huh, wot the! It's not that late (trains normally run to 2am) train line shutdown for maintenance, grrrr bus then.

Enjoy the photo. I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.