Me, My Camera & I

By notgraham

Seaking

Off we popped to North Berwick today. As we were driving into town we saw that there was a landed Seaking helicopter on the beach!
The Coastguard looked to be doing manoveres out at sea and they'd stopped for a spot of lunch.
So, after we'd had our lunch and S was walking along the street going into each (and every single) shop along the High Street I snuck off to go see this huge beast.
Boy, did I pick a wrong time to go see it.

I could hear the blades spinning up. I thought they were just starting to get spun up....however I was wrong. So wrong.

The Seaking isn't as loud at take off as it might be when in flight. Because just as I was getting to the steps to turn onto the beach WHOOOMF. Sand sandwich, in the face. It was horrid. I can now imagine what sand blasting your face might feel like. It was also made worse by the sand adhering to my head with whatever moisturiser I had put on that day.

I was shaking sand off myself for hours, in fact I was trying to get it out of my ears, eyes and nose for hours afterwards. NOT NICE.
I like them when they are on Tarmac..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.