Eyed Hawk moth

Woke up feeling total rubbish today! to be honest I had felt unwell all weekend, with a constant headache and aching all over, so I wasn't surprised when I woke up even worse. 
I didn't go to work, and didn't go out, so luckily for me I had caught this Eyed Hawk moth  Smerinthus ocellatus, to share with you. 
It seems to be Hawk moth season right at the moment with no less than 7 Elephant hawks in my trap in recent days, along with one small Elephant hawk and this beauty. 
I love the beautiful eye spots which these guys flash if they are threatened to distract predators - quite effective as you can see.
I am feeling a lot better this evening, so back to reality tomorrow! I have added an extra shot of an Elephant hawk, and Small elephant hawk on my hand to show the size difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.