A Wave On The Ocean

By Bensholto

When it all goes quiet behind my eyes.......

" When it all goes quiet behind my eyes, I see everything that made me, lying around in invisible pieces.
When I look too hard, it goes away. And when it all goes quiet, I see they are right here.
I see that I'm a little piece in a big, big universe. And that makes things right."
Hushpuppy, Beasts of the Southern Wild.

Today I watched Beasts of the Southern Wild.
A film set in Louisiana around the time of Hurricane Katrina (although it's never specifically defined during the film.)
A strange film, part harrowing life story of a poverty-stricken young girl aged about six or maybe seven, part fantasy tale of aurochs and melting ice caps, and altogether strangely compelling, especially in the performance of a child who completely mesmerises when she's on screen.


I think it will stay with me for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.