Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Kestrel Chicks!

I looked out of the window this morning, saw a van draw up across the road and thought nothing of it. I went to the bathroom, back to the window and had a shock. What was that man doing up a rope with his hands in the Kestrels nest?!

I pulled on the first articles of clothing I could find, that weren't very clean, and dashed down the drive to confront him looking like a banshee with my still swollen face. What I found was a local ornithologist from Chilworth and his bird ringing companion from Farnham, who had originally put the nest box up last year.

The eggs have hatched. There are three chicks in the box and today they gained some leg rings. I ran back for the camera, as one does, but found I had no card in the camera when the climber, Jerry, came down from the tree. They did however, have another nest box nearby to ring and very kindly waited for me to get my act together before they moved on.

This is the moment one of the five chicks in the second box was officially tagged. It seems that it is a good year for Kestrels and the nests are averaging 5 chicks. I'm a happy nosey neighbour and so glad I didn't find someone illegally emptying the box.

Another couple of pics here and here and again here. Oh well, go on. One more here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.