Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

Arkham Night!/Holy Crap Today Was Long!

I'm including extra pictures from my day today!

Today has been a very long day! It has also been a very hot day, reaching 103°F. Only 1°F cooler than yesterday.

My "day" started around 1am after only a few hours of sleep, when I got on Inquisition Multiplayer to do the weekend challenge at the last minute. (The weekend events end at 6am Monday -- my local time -- except for special occasions, which most weekends aren't.) B and I started out doing it together, but he was too tired after only one match and went to bed. I was nodding off, but managed to finish it on my gamertag. I decided to go ahead and try to finish it on B's gamertag so he could get the rewards from it, too.

At first I was nodding off while working on the challenge on his gamertag, but then I woke up a bit too much, as once I was done and tried to go to sleep, my mind was too awake despite how tired I was. So I decided to game on my laptop, which is on my nightstand. (Because 99% of the time I can't fall asleep without doing something while trying to fall asleep.) So I played for several hours, still not able to fall asleep. Not even deciding to do research on dual-booting a computer helped! (A lot of the time researching something helps me fall asleep.)

Nova woke B up a little before 8am, demanding love, attention, and breakfast. He got all three. B was too awake to fall back to sleep at first, so he and I talked about playing Borderlands together via our LAN network (as opposed to online play). So he started downloading it, but the Steam Summer Sale was still going on, which meant that Steam downloads were fairly laggy at that point in time.

I decided to give Nova a very thorough brushing to try to help the shedding process more to keep him cooler. I got a LOT of fur off him today, and he was in heaven for most of the brushing. (Nova used to outright HATE being brushed. Now he enjoys a great deal, but to an extent, however, he can still turn violent and attack the brush and the hand holding it. Especially if his back is aching.)

Had to go to the pain clinic and get an injection in my right shoulder joint. It hurts like Hell, but despite the greatly elevated level of pain, after a few hours it seems to be actually helping me a little, which makes me helpful.

Pain clinic was supposed to fax a prescription for my muscle relaxers to my pharmacy almost two weeks ago. The pharmacy says they never got it. While I was at the pain clinic, I told them about it, and they apologized and said that they would send it again. I asked them before I left, and they said the prescription was faxed over again.

Tried to go look at a used car for sale that B and I are interested in on the way home from my injection. (We really need a second vehicle.) But the lot not only looked pretty shady, but also didn't appear to be open for business for the day when we arrived. We took that as a sign that we really shouldn't get that car.

Got home, Borderlands had finished downloading on B's computer, so we played over our LAN connection for a couple hours. We were both really tired, but while B was able to fall asleep, I was unable to. So I just kept gaming while waiting for 5:30pm to get here.

Tonight was launch night for the last game of the Arkham game series, Arkham Knight.

Naturally, I had it pre-ordered. I've been waiting for this game release for well over a year! Arkham Origins was a very enjoyable game, but it was more of a placeholder in the Arkham series, trying to keep fans of the series appeased until Arkham Knight could be finished and launched.

(I was also waiting for the release of Dragon Age Inquisition for around three years, I think? Ever since the staff hinted that there would be another Dragon Age game, back when the entire fandom -- including the developers -- were referring to it as Dragon Age III. Inquisition was actually released almost a year later than BioWare -- the developers that made it -- predicted.)

So at 5:30pm I woke up B and we headed to GameStop so I could get my pre-order receipt to come pick up my game later tonight. On the way home I ran into Albertsons to see about picking up my muscle relaxer, only to be informed that they never received it. One of the pharmacists there, and older gentleman, was always really cranky whenever B encountered him in the first couple years of using that pharmacy, and though his disposition has improved, our nickname of "Cranky Pharmacist" has stuck when we refer to him. Well, Cranky Pharmacist told me to try the pharmacy across the street, because lately it wasn't unusual for several medical offices to send the prescriptions to the wrong phamacy, and the pain clinic I go to has been one of those offenders recently.

Empty handed from the pharmacy, I picked up a surprise treat for B and we headed back home, as I was too tired to run into the pharmacy across the street at that point in time. (It was really hot today.) We both struggled with awakeness again for a little while, but B was able to fall asleep, and eventually, so was I. I'm really mad at myself that I forgot to call the other pharmacy (which I have used before, and does have my insurance information and everything necessary) before I fell asleep. So now I have to wait until tomorrow to call them.

When my 9pm medicine alarm went off, it was a scramble to get my meds taken and hurry out of the house. (I'd gotten less than an hour and a half of sleep.) Rushed over to GameStop to get in line for the launch of Arkham Knight.

Because it was so hot today, and still really hot even though the sun had set, GameStop didn't close their doors for a couple hours between their real closing time and the time of releasing Arkham Knight. They let everyone camp out inside the store to stay cool, only sending us out about ten or fifteen minutes before it was time to launch the game.

A few people in the line were being pricks to me, but after going to another part of the line, I was thrilled to run into a group of guys from different places in Missouri. We had a pretty good conversation about our homestate, and quite a few gaming and fandom conversations. I got to tell someone about The Killing Joke Batman comic. He'd never even heard of it, but thought it sounded pretty awesome.

At 10pm on the dot, GameStop opened their doors back up and the line began moving into the store. I was near the middle of a pretty damn long line, but over the years, GameStop has become pretty efficient at speedy game launches. It used to take much longer. (I think we were there for over an hour after Skyrim's launch. I remember getting there before 10pm but not getting home until after midnight, and our GameStop is only a few minutes away.) By 10:02pm I had my game in hand and was headed out the door.

So here I am now, exhausted, and still struggling to sleep. B's sleeping next to me snoring like an effing lumber mill. Tuxie is sleeping perched on top of B in order to sit directly in front of the fan we keep in front of the AC to blow the cold air into the rest of the room.

Nova is sleeping on his favorite plastic box, appearing as though he's melted due to the heat.

Hope you all are doing well. Take care. Love you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.