Caley

A new idea (for me) and something to further experiment with.

Even if you have a hi tech flash to use in conjunction with an SLR which will work at shutter speeds beyond the highest sync speed you run in to huge problems with effective flash power. Up to say 1/250 second all the flash power is available but beyond that the shutter speed cuts down flash illumination in the same manner as ambient light . This manifests itself in having a flash range of about three feet at 1/ 4000 second. I am using my old (1980s) flash which long predates such high speed flash units but what I think is very nifty is that the shutter on this compact does not have the same SLR restrictions so you can flash at any shutter speed you want. Its so clever yet the manufacturers don't make anything of it in the usual blurb. Had I attempted the same photo, with the same ancient flash, with the same shutter speed on my Nikon, one half of Caley would be in the dark. 
Its been a catch up desk day and I got some fresh air with Caley in the morning at Achaderry. The Grey Corries seem like a distant dream now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.