The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Penang Hill

I revisited the "Penang Road Famous Teochew Chendul", where I had my first taste of cendol back in January. It was still fantastic! I saw some smoke filling the streets from nearby so went to see where it was coming from. A park with dry grass was on fire and there were a few people staring and taking photos, so I joined them. About five minutes later a fire engine arrived and three firefighters jumped out and began to tackle the flames (as you can see in my extra photo). A bit of drama to kick-start my day!

Later in the afternoon I met up with Bene, Gus, Edne and Wagner (from left to right in the group photo) to get the bus to Penang Hill. There we took the (fairly pricey) funicular railway to the top and enjoyed the hazy views across the island. We stayed for a couple of hours, exploring the temple, having some food and taking our time.

We got back to Georgetown at about 8.30pm pretty exhausted so the others went back to their hostel and I had some biriyani and martabak (a stuffed bread/pancake) on my way back to mine. A pretty successfully day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.