Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

People

I have been wondering about what I want to photograph longer term and what I think I am good at photographing. It's people I reckon, children especially. It became apparent to me this afternoon on the platform of Llangollen train station.

Mrs H and I had our last few hours in Wales without the kids and the weather Gods were kind to us and held off the rain. After checking out of the B&B we drove to Llangollen for a potter (there's that middle-age again!). A super contrast to yesterday's poor, rainy results in Betws-y-Coed :) Lots of interesting shops, nice food and things to see - including a steam train or two.

There were tons of train people taking pictures of the engine as it chuffed in and out, but I found myself focusing on all the people associated with the train - I needed a human element. I did get a couple of the train, but when reviewing the shots, the ones with people in got me going a lot more. This porter ducked and moved out of the way when he saw me pointing a camera - he assumed I was trying to get the train and he thought he was in my way and apologised. When I told him it was him I was actually wanting a picture of he looked quite surprised (pleasantly, don't let his expression fool you). Fortunately he gave me a couple of seconds to snap this one before getting back to his duties.

The platform had that wonderful smell of steam trains, but the smell of passion was much stronger. I am by no means a train nerd, but the attention to detail and care taken to keep the trains, station, uniforms, decor and everything there was very evident and a credit to all those involved. Pleasing to see something so wonderful maintained and run for admiration and enjoyment rather than profit. Dedicated, committed and admirable attitude.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.