Jack James

By JackJames

Train to Inverness

Up with the boys to go and get American-style pancakes from the Treehouse café in Bruntsfield, before going off to collect a new bike tyre from Evans.

Didn't have long before I was on the train to Inverness - a route I'd not done my rail before, and was very glad I did - not only was it amazing scenery (such good post-glacial geography!!) but I could see the A9 from the road, and boy was it busy. Tailbacks for miles - I learnt later that 2 people had been killed in a crash, and the traffic was awful because it's Rockness this weekend.

Fantastic weather until the train started the decent down to Inverness, where the cloud curled in and stayed for the rest of the evening, right down to ground level.

I'm up north to visit my mate Rob who lives in nearby Culbokie, who I visited last in feb, and I'm very glad to be back! We're planning to get a load of highland cycling on the go, should be good - though I do hope that the weather lifts because the scenery is fantastic.

Rob and his dad picked me up from Inverness, and wizzed me though the mist to home, where his mum had left me a portion of dinner. Hard to be made any more at home :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.