Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Berlin Reichstag

Today I did all the Berlin touristy things. I was naive to think I could book a free time slot to visit the Reichstag dome so I ended up booking on a German speaking tour to get in. I was pleased with how much I understood and the guide was very complimentary when we chatted. Stellar views from the dome.

I used an audio guide to retrace the route of the Berlin Wall and see some other sights. While Berlin seems to be a thriving cool city with rappers busking at every S-Bahn stop, the scattered remnants of an era gone-by meant I spent most of the day walking around with a huge knot in my stomach.

I'm spending the weekend with a friend (another Fiona) who I went to SU camp with at the end of primary school. We kept in touch and now she is studying in Berlin. When I got in touch to see if she was free for a coffee she offered me her sofa! It's amazing what the network of Scottish Christians can get you! Even somewhere to sleep in Berlin! I liked being able to wander around myself during the day while she was doing uni work and then have someone to see the nightlife with in the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.