Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Milky Way From Near Roche Harbor

What a fun night getting to photograph the Milky Way here near where we have our boat moored in Roche Harbor.  These shots take some real planning, and a whole lot of luck.  The weather (a clear night) and a dark sky (no moon) are a must along with just the right spot (clear view south away from any lights) and something else of interest (a tree) are needed---oh, and someone to keep you company at 1am on a dark road with lots of scary sounds;))).   Thanks go out to my sweet husband who is always up for an adventure!!!!

The crazy thing about the day was that this was just the beginning of one wonderful 24 hours of photography.  After a few hours of sleep we headed for South Beach near American Camp where I was hoping to see foxes.  Instead I spied a large dark golden eagle in the distance across a large expanse of open grassland.  Bob sat in the car as I decided to get closer.  I approached and it flew off...then I saw something in my peripheral vision...more Eagles...4 altogether!  In the next 5 minutes they gave me a show that I won't forget.  It began with one of them flying with what appeared to be a baby cormorant in its claws.  The others pursued hoping to steal the catch.  The catch was dropped in mid flight and another eagle caught it...whoa!  I just kept snapping photos and thinking how lucky I was to witness all of this.  After they flew off I walked back to the car...so amazed at what I had seen, and luckily Bob had been watching too with the binoculars!

Then it was off to see a few whale breaches at Lime Kiln Lighthouse...the Orcas have been here everyday!!

More photos on Flickr
https://www.flickr.com/photos/sherriestahl/sets/72157654926892406

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.