Looking Forward...

By Fiono

#distractinglysexy

This was my contribution to the Twitter campaign responding to some comments made by Nobel Laureate Tim Hunt about female scientists in the work place. Whether he was making the comments in jest or not, the backlash shows how many women, like myself, just do not find such humour amusing. It was not at all funny to hear that our contribution to the scientific field was being reduced to falling in love with our male colleagues and crying when we receive criticism in the lab.

Apologies. Rant over. I'm very lucky to have experienced very little sexism as a female science student but I have friends who haven't been so fortunate. And yes, I get to wear cool gas masks in placement when handling chemicals with harmful odours. I've never looked more attractive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.