Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Art | Basel

I'll give anything a go. Maybe even a few goes although the jury is still out on trying skiing again. Personally I'm still not convinced by the legitimacy of the vast majority of Modern Art I have seen.

After church I headed to Messeplatz (Basel's answer to Glasgow's SECC) for the world's largest Modern and Contemporary Art fair. I gave up after a couple of hours.

While there were some pieces I appreciated after reading a blurb nearby, generally, if I see a piece of "art" that doesn't make sense at all or I could have done myself, like the one pictured above, I'm not usually impressed.

It's a whole other world to me. I was hearing people behind me remarking that €18,000 for one of the pieces was reasonable. For some people that's an annual salary!

I can only apologise to all the art fans I have offended in this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.