Mother Knows Best ????

I was watching this family of ducks in the millpond. Mom seemed to be real attentive to any surrounding dangers. I lost sight of them as they went up the hill.

When I saw them next...Mom was leading them across a concrete deck. I said to myself..."Self...where in the world is she leading them? There's no exit up there."

I couldn't move fast enough for what came next. Mom slipped under a wrought iron railing...yelled..."Geronimo!!!", and jumped.

It is not a short jump. 18-20 feet into a shallow holding pond that leads to the river. There was just NO WAY that the babies would leap from there. I prepared for another duckling rescue.

HA! By the time I got to the edge...5 had already jumped. I got pictures of the last 3, but they weren't very good. I put the last daredevil to jump on my flickr page. Unreal. What was she thinking? Was she training the ducklings to be part of the Flying Waterfowlendas?

The picture I posted is after the jump. I think Mom was looking for a suitable place for a nap. After the leap...I think the duckies needed some sleep. I think they would sleep without a peep.

Click on LARGE for a cuter look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.