Grass

By way of a change I thought I’d try my hand at grasses instead of flowers. It’s amazing how many different kinds of grass there are in the fields at the moment. Grass is not something we normally get excited about but I came across this website. Dr M gets very excited and waxes lyrical about the many different species…………

The Brome grasses are extremely beautiful grasses with rather characteristic oval and awned spikelets, though the main Bromeae genus, Bromus, is rather close to Festuca, read on!



The inflorescence is a panicle with laterally compressed spikelets with several to many fertile florets and usually with imperfect (poorly formed and/or sterile) florets in the upper part.



The glumes are persistent and shorter than lowest lemma. The lemmas are herbaceous to coriaceous 5-13 nerved, 2-toothed at tip, with a straight or recurved  sub-apical awn.



The ovary is capped by a hairy lobed appendage bearing sub-terminal stigmas, this is an important diagnostic feature.



*From a website called ‘Dr M Goes Wild’


It’s almost like poetry!!


Extra Pic
While I was waiting for Igor to take his shots of the church I found some unusual irises outside the church gates. I picked a couple and couldn’t resist having a go at photographing these too. I think the species is the same as the one Black Tulip blipped so beautifully a few days ago (this one’s not quite fully opened) so I followed her example and tried a white background instead of my normal black. I liked the results. 
Thanks BT :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.