FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

My Superhero Bro is safe

I can relax tonight in the knowledge that my baby brother is safely tucked up at my friend Debs' house in Northamptonshire for a well earned sleep. After 32 hours running 158 miles and just 90 min kip he made the tough decision not to continue the Thames Ring 250. He slipped and fell in the night, while running through woods and bruised his back quite badly.

The Camelbak water ruck sack was rubbing and pushing on his back and his ankles were swollen to the point where continuing the race for the last 90 odd miles would have been not only painful but potentially an invitation for long term damage. All this on top of extreme fatigue that is almost hallucination, not ideal when running along the Thames riverside!

I was driving home from work on country lanes around 830pm when my brother called to discuss his decision and work out how to get home. I pulled over to chat options and quickly got out my trusty road atlas (I was in a poor mobile reception area) to work out where he was and who was the closest for rescue!

A quick call to one of my dearest aviation pals Debs and within minutes she was on the road for the 40 minute journey to collect him despite the fact they've never met! A friend worth her weight in gold.

Liaising with fellow supporter Helen who herself is about to embark on another ultra adventure up in the Lake District and between us we contacted who needed to be informed as she kept him chatting while I continued my journey home (via a garage for more oil thanks to a knackered car - a stressful and not interesting saga of my afternoon I won't bother you with).

I got home at 10pm and was flooded with messages on Facebook and Twitter from the supporters, friends and family wanting updates.

I learnt when working at 24 hour motorsport events way back that endurance sport is just as much about the mental challenge as it is about the physical one. It's the stress factors of logistics, weather and unexpected injuries under extraordinary conditions that pose the problem.

I'm gutted for my bro that he was unable to finish but so proud for all he achieved and making the right decision to quit before it was too late.

I'm ashamed to say that I feel exhausted from supporting him remotely with the coordinating of supporter calls, tracking on various apps, updating social media and all this while trying to work and deal with car meltdown.

Worry can be draining especially after just 4 hours sleep snd not much to eat! Double hard for my bro 'in-law' Sunday who was working on a long haul flight with no contact possible.

For me the past few days taught me that family and friends you choose as your family are the most important thing in life secondary only to health oh and maybe earning a living to afford all the challenges.

Time for a few hours sleep myself now before facing the car troubles first thing with a second opinion from the local independent garage then if the news isn't too scary a girlie day out...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.