madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Lilium Regale

A morning on the allotment with intermittent sun which made it delightful! Picked redcurrants today as the blackbirds are having a fine feast on them! Checked my fruit cage and oh my! Blueberries look as prolific as they were last year! Happy days ahead! The Gooseberries are turning a lovely plummy red and the blackcurrants a glossy black! Plus no slugs have nibbled my newly put in squash! The incinerator had a lovely bed of glowing embers so topped it up then ambled home for a George Clooney just as the rain started!
Decided to make my jam and needed sugar and lemons so grabbed my purse and Portly and set off down the hill - met Camera man who was about to make a Summers Pudding with my strawberries, so said I'd drop some redcurrants down to him later. On into the village and a chat with the Dressmaker regarding my winter curtains - it's good to be prepared! Then with Polish free spirit in the shop who used to make jewellry but her eyesight made the intricate work impossible for her to continue making it. We chatted about puddings and the changing nature of our taste buds as we get older. Listing the puddings I loved I was reminded of Queen of  Puddings - my mum used to make one for me whenever  I came home for a visit. Decided to make one of them after  all the other puddings in the fridge have been eaten! 
At Camera mans looked at his photos of Blue Bloods - a type of orchid he had gone looking for Thursday. Also had some lovely bread and jam and a nice cup of tea as he prepared his summer pud and we spoke of food and complaining in restaurants! Something I never would do but now have no fear of - another advantage of getting older! I don't make a habit of it, but am not scared of doing so when the occasion demands!! These lilies are on his balcony,  I had been planning to take my Agapanthus for Anni on this most difficult of  FlowerFriday's for her, but  I think they are the most perfect of all the lilies and suit the name regale - and were particularly beautiful and apt with the raindrops. I had not meant to go all high key on them, and had spent ages capturing them with the fields, but you have to go with the one that speaks to you - and this was the one. Unfortunately I then spotted the lone clothes peg - my heart gave a flutter! I should not have taken it but couldn't resist  - so one is  my extra and I have further plans for it,  all other lily and peg shots here!
Now its time to eat before the mammoth chicken lock up - two coops tonight - three including Milly and Tilly! Plus no weekend lie-ins as covering till monday! But lots of lovely chickens so I don't care! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.