kerryogden

By kerryogden

Out of the Shadow

I woke up with the sun as usual. These days it means getting up earlier as the days get longer.

Coming out of the shower, the light across the curtains caught my eye. It was admittedly more striking in person. Still, I knew I would post this today unaware of what a momentous day it would be.

The United States Supreme Court ruled today that all individuals regardless of their sexual orientation have the right to marry. 

Nearly 46 years to the day of the riot at Stonewall Inn, a day that ushered in the modern gay right's movement, a major civil rights battle has ended.

Love wins.

I'm so happy to see this happening in my lifetime. And even happier that one day it will boggle my boy's mind that people were denied the right to unite in love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.