stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Queen of the Harpies

I'd like to thank everyone for their lovely comments yesterday. Your response was so overwhelming. I'm truly touched and it just vindicates everything I said about this little place to which we all belong. I know I still have a few people to reply to, but I will soon.

This is the final weekend before the big day (hahaha, anyone would think it's me getting hitched) and so I struck out west once more to search for that illusive shooting location. I think I've got it. In fact, I've picked out two that should cover me for a dry day and one wet underfoot but sunny. Heh, we're still fecked if it's raining although I would like to suggest brollies to everyone and still shoot outdoors if it wasn't too bad and just use them as props. It could work. Maybe!

Anyway, it started raining not long after I got there. Nothing too hard to begin with so I headed down to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery. I spent a lovely couple of hours wandering round and taking some shots of the sculptures and viewing the various artworks. At one, we were all treated to an organ recital. The sound which resounded through the Gallery was wonderful. I would have loved to hear Bach's Toccata and Fugue, which you'll all remember from this classic film of course but alas it wasn't to be.

As soon as I saw her, I knew The Harpy Celaeno (Mary Pownall ~ 1902 ~ marble) would be my blip tonight. Just the mention of that word puts a smile on my face because it reminds me of one of my all-time favourite Simpsons quotes.

It's a horrid night tonight for the moonwalkers here in Edinburgh. What a shame. Be sure to wrap up warm ladies and good luck to those taking part.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.