one species a day

By linnaeus

One species each day (from my backyard)

It took me nearly a week to figure this one out: Nandina domestica. I first thought it was a New Zealand native, but it was nowhere to be found in J. T. Salmon's tree book and I had no clue how to begin to look for it on Google. So when I was at Bunnings I had a good look around their garden department and there it was. It appears to be quite a popular plant, however, especially in Japan where there is even a Nandina society. Obviously I've seen it before, it grows right next to the garden steps and can't be ignored, but it has never been my favourite. The leaves seem to always be some shade of yellow, orange or red, which I associated with poor health. However, those colours seem to be the attraction for many people. In Japan alone there are 65 named cultivars. Anyway, this picture doesn't show much of that colour, but it had just rained and I looked for an unusual way to photograph this one and here it is: One leaf and one of its unbranched stems upside down in the raindrops on the leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.